FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A101) Tuesday, February 23, 2016 3:00 p.m.

Tony Graham, President Presiding

Senate Members Present: Phoebe Ajibade, Sherrie Cannoy, Angel Dowden, Albert Esterline, Bonnie Fields, Galen Foresman, Roger Gagnon, Tony Graham, Gwendolyn Highsmith-Quick, Floyd James, John Kizito, Luba Kurkalova, Gary Lebby, Jianzhong Lou, Patrick Martin, Stephen McCary-Henderson, Mahour Mellat-Parast, Gregory Meyerson, Elizabeth Newcomb, Thomas Redd, Ceola Ross Baber, Derick Smith, Octavious Spruill, David Tidwell, Lewis Waller, Hong Wang, Jenora Waterman, Sheila Whitley.

Departments Not Represented: Chemistry; Liberal Studies; Psychology; Sociology and Social Work; Energy Environmental Systems; Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Industrial and Systems Engineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Agribusiness, Applied Economics and Agriscience Education; Natural Resources and Environmental Design; Marketing, Transportation and Supply Chain; Electronics, Computer and Information Technology; Graphic Design Technology.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Tony Graham, President Presiding.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

It was properly moved and seconded to approve the January 26, 2016 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes. The motion carried.

Senate Welcome Dr. Tony Graham

Dr. Graham extended greetings and thanked everyone for their presence.

Committee Reports

President Graham's Comments. Dr. Graham referred to the Friday, February 19, 2016 Greensboro News & Record newspaper article entitled, *A&T Approves Three New Colleges in Campus Reorganization*. He noted that the Board of Trustees has approved the campus-wide reorganization restructuring plan that was presented by Chancellor Martin. If the plan is approved by the Board of Governors, it will take effect the fall semester, 2016. New employment assignments/reassignments will take place with the restructuring plan. Comments and concerns can still be presented to the administration. Dr. Graham stated that faculty should continue to feel free to submit any comments and/or concerns to the provost and chancellor's offices. Additionally, he noted that the restructuring will affect the Senate. The Senate must

work together on several fronts. The Handbook will be affected and the structure of Senate representation may be affected, including the number of faculty serving on the Faculty Hearing and Reconsideration and the Faculty Grievance Committees. Vigorous committee work is needed. Dr. Graham asked senators to please let him know if anyone would like to serve on any Senate committee. Dr. Graham stated that Provost Whitehead will be invited to the next Senate meeting to continue to address concerns related to restructuring.

Welfare Committee

Dr. Gregory Meyerson

The Committee finds itself attempting to right wrongs that were presented earlier. Dr. Meyerson stressed the value of interdisciplinary work.

Educational Policy Committee

Dr. Floyd James

In its last committee meeting, the Educational Policy Committee discussed academic restructuring and how it will affect education. It was noted that there may be an impact on teaching and degree tracks in colleges/schools/departments.

Welfare Committee Mr. David Tidwell

There is on-going discussion with reference to term length for department chairs and the hiring process-how it currently exists and the changeover; and faculty workload and restructuring. Mr. Tidwell presented a draft resolution from the Welfare Committee on NC GAP. It addresses familiarity and faculty working together to accomplish the legislation. He noted that the resolution needs a vote from the Senate today. The resolution, from the Senate, will be forwarded to the Provost and Chancellor. After some discussion, it was properly moved and seconded that the Senate will submit the resolution document as a draft to the Chancellor with noted corrections. The motion carried. One abstention.

Constitution Committee

Dr. Linda Bowman Hopson

The Committee met on February 16, 2016 and addressed restructuring and constitution as related to Chapter IV of the Faculty Handbook. A resolution of concerns to be forwarded to the administration was presented to the Senate for approval. After some discussion, it was agreed to table the resolution until the next Senate meeting.

New Programs and Curricula Committee

Dr. Sheila Whitley

Dr. Whitley brought to the floor 10 proposal packets that were discussed in their committee meeting on February 9, 2016. It was properly moved and seconded that the proposals be approved as presented. The motion carried. The proposals are as follows:

- 1. Agribusiness, Applied Economics, and Agriscience. One (1) undergraduate 120-credit hour curriculum guide
- 2. Business Education. Eight (8) undergraduate course changes; One (1) undergraduate 120-credit hour curriculum guide; One (1) new undergraduate concentration
- 3. Chemical, Biological and Bio Engineering. Five (5) undergraduate course changes; one (1) undergraduate curriculum guide

- 4. Computer Systems Technology. Thirty-two (32) graduate course changes; One (1) graduate curriculum guide
- 5. Economics. One (1) new undergraduate course; four (4) undergraduate 120-credit hour curriculum guides
- 6. Industrial Systems Engineering (MS in ISE). Forty-six (46) graduate course changes; One (1) reduced hours graduate curriculum guide
- 7. Industrial Systems Engineering (PhD in ISE). Five (5) graduate course changes; One (1) reduced hours graduate curriculum guide
- 8. Management. One (1) new undergraduate course; One (1) undergraduate 120-credit hour curriculum guide
- 9. Nanoengineering. Two (2) credit hour reduction graduate curriculum guides
- 10. Natural Resources and Environmental Design. One (1) new undergraduate course; Nine (9) undergraduate course changes; Four (4) undergraduate 120-credit hour curriculum guides

New Business Dr. Tony Graham

The remaining Senate town hall meetings 2015-2016 will be suspended. The agenda work for the town halls has been completed; however, if colleges/schools/areas town halls need to take place, Dr. Graham should be notified.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: March 22, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Nina R. Ingram Recorder